Twenty-seven DFLers introduced a bill on Monday that would prohibit licensed professionals in Minnesota from engaging in conversion therapy on minors. Conversion therapy is the practice of using therapy to change someone’s sexual orientation or gender identity. House File 1620 would also bar the state of Minnesota for reimbursing clinics for conversion therapy services.

The bill is identical to one introduced in the Minnesota Senate two weeks ago.

The bill was introduced by Peter Fischer of Maplewood, Susan Allen of Minneapolis, Tina Liebling of Rochester, Karen Clark of Minneapolis, Erin Murphy of St. Paul, Leon Lillie of North St. Paul, Jason Isaacson of Little Canada, Jim Davnie of Minneapolis, JoAnn Ward of Woodbury, Mike Freiberg of Golden Valley, Ron Erhardt of Edina, Dan Schoen of St. Paul Park, Barb Yarusso of Shoreview, Raymond Dehn of Minneapolis, Carlos Mariani of St. Paul, Laurie Halverson of Eagan, Cheryl Youakim of Hopkins, Ryan Winkler of St. Louis Park, Diane Loeffler of Minneapolis, Sheldon Johnson of St. Paul, Rena Moran of St. Paul, Paul Rosenthal of Edina, Melissa Hortman of Brooklyn Park, Tim Mahoney of St. Paul, Jennifer Schultz of Duluth, Jon Applebaum of Minnetonka, and Dave Pinto of St. Paul.

Two states — New Jersey and California — as well as the District of Columbia have banned conversion therapy for minors. Similar legislation is advancing in Colorado, Oregon, and Iowa.

The Column is a community-supported non-profit news, arts, and media organization. We depend on community support to continue the work of solid LGBT-centric journalism. If you like this article, consider visiting Give MN to make a contribution today.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here